Back to top

North Coast Region

North Coast Region


Initiated under the second phase of the Critical Communications Enhancement Program (CCEP), the North Coast project will deliver increased Government Radio Network (GRN) coverage through an enhancement of the existing GRN. The North Coast region covers an area of approximately 46,000 square kilometres, from Dungog to Tweed Heads.


What is the existing status of the North Coast Region?

Historically, a number of NSW Government agencies operate separate radio networks in the North Coast region. This is in addition to the GRN which provides around 13 per cent shared and interoperable in-vehicle radio coverage, at public safety standard, in the region. The GRN and individual networks provide different coverage, with no single network covering the entire North Coast region.

What will the CCEP North Coast project deliver?

The CCEP North Coast will enhance the existing GRN radio coverage in the region and improve the resilience of the network. New sites will be added and existing GRN, agency and private carrier co-location sites will be refreshed or significantly upgraded.

Through the enhanced GRN coverage in the North Coast area, NSW Government agencies, and essential services will benefit from significantly improved shared network coverage. The enhanced GRN will also provide network capacity, availability and resilience designed to meet public safety standards. Learnings from the pilot in the North West of NSW are also helping to inform the design and state-wide delivery of an enhanced GRN.


Fast facts

Total area:  The North Coast region is approximately 46,000 square kilometres

GRN coverage: Pre-existing GRN coverage of less than 17 per cent will increase to over 90 per cent through the CCEP. This represents over 35,000 square kilometres of additional in-vehicle radio coverage at public safety standard.

North Coast enhanced CCEP site selection: The CCEP has selected a range of new sites and existing GRN, agency and private carrier co-location sites that will be refreshed or upgraded as part of the program. The primary aim is to increase the GRN coverage for the region.

Major towns: towns of Tweed Heads, Byron Bay, Kyogle, Casino, Lismore, Ballina, Grafton, Bellingen, Coffs Harbour, Kempsey, Port Macquarie, Taree, Gloucester, Forster and Dungog.

Local Councils: Ballina Shire Council, Bellingen Shire Council, Byron Shire Council, Clarence Valley Council, Coffs Harbour City Council, Dungog Shire Council, Kempsey Shire Council, Kyogle Council, Lismore City Council, Mid-Coast Council, Nambucca Shire Council, Port Macquarie-Hastings Council, Richmond Valley Council, Tenterfield Shire Council, and Tweed Shire Council. Work is also proposed at sites in Armidale Regional Council (eastern boundary) and City of Gold Coast (NSW/Queensland border).

Modelled current GRN coverage as at 2017

Modelled proposed enhanced GRN coverage